About

Photo by the always amazing Savvy Alli Photography

I live in Myrtle Beach with my 2 girls and Chilean husband, where I grew up. I’m a southern-raised girl but I don’t like sweet tea, I have a minimal southern accent, I don’t bake biscuits, and I don’t listen to country music. We are vegetarians, aspiring vegans (we struggle with cheese.) Sometimes I feel like I’m a west coast spirit stuck in an east coast body.

My husband and girls are bilingual. I am not. Learning Spanish is on my to-do list, but crafting always wins.

I hate doing housework and I’m a messy crafter.

I’m happy to stay home in my PJ’s and craft all day. Luckily, my girls are home-bodies too, most of the time.

I love to sew, paint, make jewelry, knit, redecorate, refashion, refurbish, create anything and everything. If I can’t find it, I make it. If I can’t afford it, I make it. If I see it on Pinterest, I make it. I have at least six projects in the works at all times.

My earliest memory of crafting is a cross stitch project I made in first grade.

I learned to knit and crochet in my late 20′s. I knit left-handed because I learned from my mom and she’s a lefty. It makes it a little difficult to learn new stitches from books and tutorials.

My mom learned to sew at a young age and I grew up cutting out patterns and picking out fabric at the craft stores. I never had an interest in learning to sew because she was my personal seamstress. When my first daughter was born I asked her to teach me to sew because she lived 4 hours away and I wanted to make cute baby things. She brought me her old sewing machine, showed me how to thread it and program a couple basic stitches, and handed me the manual. I bought some cheap fabric, a sundress pattern, and made myself a dress…with a zipper!

My girls are 5 and 7, both in school full time. I thought that would give me more time for crafting, but not so much. With my crafting ADD I’m all over the place and can’t get anything done.

 

 

 

 

contact me at heathermfigueroa@yahoo.com

&